No One Said It Was

Hey guys! Today I was a bit let down that my designs, at the request of a client, was not up to par with their aesthetic and overall “look” of their company.

Now the reason I air quote “look” is because listen, design and keeping up with the trends is not an easy thing to do.

I have been wrecking my brain for inspiration on my designs. At one point I was thinking maybe the designs I’m spitting out are not good enough. Companies looking for graphic designers think it’s so easy to be on top of trends and ultimately believe and expect designers to mass produce these wonderful displays in under a minute.

These things take brainstorming and to a certain extent: motivation and inspiration to do it too! I’m not always in a creative super sonic artistic mood ALL the time.

It’s not easy and definitely not easy if the client has one view of how the design should come out and you have another.

Which follows these tips of mine for you guys!

1. make sure to check their about me page to get a better understanding of what their design/aspirations consists of. Definitely check out what other companies they sponsor via their Facebook or any other social media outlet to get some inspirational juices flowing!

2. look at their website layout and past graphic design works in order to familiarize yourself with the type of graphics they are looking for and expecting of you.

3. Make sure they pay you upfront after the trial !!! This one is very important. If for whatever reason they ask for a second trial to make sure say NUP! Exactly that ‘nup’.

Side note: If I have to undergo a second trial then you’re (the client) definitely are not thinking of hiring me but possibly gonna steal my creative aesthetic for your own personal use.

4. Do not waste time contemplating over what could have happened if you get no response just let it be. It most likely is a sign that it wasn’t meant to be. That last sentence rhymed XD.

Leave a Reply

